le grand ballet
performances

A peculiar dance party with a duet of viola da gamba and electric guitar for ages 6+ .

"Dance along to music from the time of the Sun King"

Zonzo Compagnie and Ictus dust off a masterpiece by Marin Marais, the court composer of Louis XIV, the Sun King. That is the starting point of a performance in which the audience are invited to dance. Sometimes the audience move to the sound of the music, othertimes the choreography seems to take on a life of its own and it is up to the musicians to follow. The music thus gives birth to a curious choreography: something between yoga, Baroque courtly dance and aerobics.

'Le Grand Ballet' is a wordless music production to which the audience is invited to dance. Sometimes they move on the sound of the music, and other times the musicians just have to follow the dance of the audience.

music: MARIN MARAIS,FRÉDÉRIC VERRIÈRES& EVA REITER 

concept & electric guitar: TOM PAUWELS 

coachingINNE GORIS 

electric gamba: EVA REITER

dance: RÉGIS BADEL 

costumes: JOHANNA TRUDZINSKI

technical coordination: PIETER NYS 

A production by Zonzo Compagnie in co-production with Ictus Ensemble and Concertgebouw Brugge. With the support of Flanders, the Interfaces Network, co-funded by the Creative Europe Programme and the cultural city festival Antwerp Baroque 2018. Rubens inspires.

Upcoming Events:

October 2018
Sun 14/10/18
Concertgebouw
Brugge,Belgium

Fri 26/10/18
De Bijlloke
Ghent, Belgium

Sun 28/10/18
De Bijlloke
Ghent, Belgium

November 2018
Thu 01/11/18
deSingel
Antwerpen, Belgium

Sun 04/11/18
Bozar
Brussels, Belgium

Mon 05/11/18
Bozar
Brussels, Belgium

Mon 12/11/18
De Studio
Antwerpen, Belgium

Tue 13/11/18
De Studio
Antwerpen, Belgium

Sat 24/11/18
Opéra
Lille, France

Sun 25/11/18
Opéra
Lille, France

December 2018
Fri 28/12/18
CC Berchem
Antwerpen, Belgium

Sat 29/12/18
CC Berchem
Antwerpen, Belgium

 

 
October-December 2018

Visit the event page here.

organized by:
Zonzo Compagnie
http://www.zonzocompagnie.be/en

organised by:
Ictus
http://www.ictus.be